The Beatitudinal Leader

In the history of the church, moral teachings often flow from the seven deadly sins and the seven virtues. The seven deadlies are wrath, avarice, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony. The seven virtues tend to be chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, patience, kindness and humility. One might reasonably ask where such lists come from and the answer is “lots of places, including the Bible.” So one thinks of the listings one finds in the Ten Commands or in Micah 5 or in Proverbs 6 or in Galatians 5. In the Christian tradition, while these virtues and vices applied to all Christians (and non-Christians in God’s mind), they were especially to be the case with pastors and priests and bishops and deacons.

But there’s another list at work as well, the Beatitudes of Matthew 5:3-12.

Read more

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.