May 21, 2017: Verse of the day

img_1333
Prayer (108:12)

Without the Lord the situation is hopeless, no one else will do. David had lived long enough to know that man’s help is useless. He asks the Mighty God to take up Israel’s cause again by giving help on the battlefield.

Prospect (108:13)

As soon as he leaves the place of prayer, the psalmist is singing a note of triumph. “Through God we will do valiantly,” for it is He who will crush the opposition and give victory to His beloved ones. This is the confidence, born of faith, that Paul Gerhardt expressed so eloquently:

Is God for me? I fear not,
Though all against me rise;
When I call on Christ my Savior,
The host of evil flies.
My Friend, the Lord Almighty,
And He who loves me, God;
What enemy can harm me,
Though coming like a flood?

The world may pass and perish,
Thou, God, wilt not remove;
No hatred of all devils
Can part me from Thy love;
No hungering nor thirsting,
No poverty nor care,
No wrath of mighty princes
Can reach my shelter there.

My heart with joy upleapeth,
Grief cannot linger there,
She singeth high in glory,
Amidst the sunshine fair.
The sun that shines upon me
Is Jesus and His love,
The fountain of my singing
Is deep in heaven above.


MacDonald, W. (1995). Believer’s Bible Commentary: Old and New Testaments. (A. Farstad, Ed.) (p. 720). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

Leave a Reply

