Sunday Prayer Guide

Adoration

Not to us, O Lord, not to us,
But to Your name give glory,
Because of Your lovingkindness and truth. (Psalm 115:1)

It is good to give thanks to the Lord
And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High,
To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning
And Your faithfulness at night. (Psalm 92:1–2)

Great and marvelous are Your works,
Lord God Almighty!
Righteous and true are Your ways,
King of the nations!
Who will not fear You, O Lord,
And glorify Your name?
For You alone are holy.
All nations will come and worship before You,
For Your righteous acts have been revealed. (Revelation 15:3–4)

O sing to the Lord a new song;
Sing to the Lord, all the earth.
Sing to the Lord, bless His name;
Proclaim the good news of His salvation day after day.
Declare His glory among the nations,
His marvelous works among all people.
Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise;
He is to be feared above all gods.
For all the gods of the nations are idols,
But the Lord made the heavens.
Splendor and majesty are before Him;
Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary. (Psalm 96:1–6)

Pause to express your thoughts of praise and worship.

Confession

This is the one You esteem:
He who is humble and contrite of spirit,
And who trembles at Your word. (Isaiah 66:2b)

Has the Lord as much delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices
As in obeying the voice of the Lord?
To obey is better than sacrifice,
And to heed is better than the fat of rams. (1 Samuel 15:22)

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
A broken and contrite heart,
O God, You will not despise. (Psalm 51:17)

If I confess my sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive me my sins and purify me from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1:9)

The Lord does not see as man sees. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. (1 Samuel 16:7)

Ask the Spirit to search your heart and reveal any areas of unconfessed sin. Acknowledge these to the Lord and thank Him for His forgiveness.

Thank You that You have said:
Come now, let us reason together.
Though your sins are like scarlet,
They shall be as white as snow;
Though they are red as crimson,
They shall be like wool. (Isaiah 1:18)

Renewal

Lord, renew me by Your Spirit as I offer these prayers to You:

By Your grace, I want to hear the words, “Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Enter into the joy of your Lord.” (Matthew 25:21)

May I be careful to lead a blameless life.
May I walk in the integrity of my heart in the midst of my house.
May I set no wicked thing before my eyes.
I hate the work of those who fall away;
May it not cling to me. (Psalm 101:2–3)

With regard to my former way of life, may I put off my old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires, and be renewed in the spirit of my mind; and may I put on the new self, which was created according to God in righteousness and true holiness. (Ephesians 4:22–24)

May I consecrate myself and be holy, because You are the Lord my God. May I keep Your statutes and practice them, for You are the Lord who sanctifies me. (Leviticus 20:7–8)

Pause to add your own prayers for personal renewal.

Petition

Father, using Your word as a guide, I offer You my prayers concerning dedication to You.

Since I have been raised with Christ, I should seek the things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. May I set my mind on the things above, not on the things on the earth, for I died, and my life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is my life appears, then I also will appear with Him in glory. (Colossians 3:1–4)

In view of God’s mercy, may I present my body as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God, which is my reasonable service. May I not be conformed to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of my mind, that I may prove that the will of God is good and acceptable and perfect. (Romans 12:1–2)

May I cast down arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of You, and take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. (2 Corinthians 10:5)

He who does not take his cross and follow after You is not worthy of You. He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for Your sake will find it. (Matthew 10:38–39) May I take my cross and lose my life for Your sake.

May I trust in the Lord and do good; may I dwell in the land and feed on Your faithfulness. When I delight myself in the Lord, You will give me the desires of my heart. I will commit my way to the Lord and trust in You, and You will bring it to pass. You will bring forth my righteousness like the light, and my justice like the noonday. (Psalm 37:3–6)

Come, my children, listen to me;
I will teach you the fear of the Lord.
Who is the man who desires life
And loves many days that he may see good?
Keep your tongue from evil
And your lips from speaking guile.
Depart from evil and do good;
Seek peace and pursue it.
The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,
And His ears are attentive to their cry. (Psalm 34:11–15)
May I learn the fear of the Lord.

Show me Your ways, O Lord,
Teach me Your paths;
Lead me in Your truth and teach me,
For You are the God of my salvation,
And my hope is in You all day long.
Remember, O Lord, Your compassions and Your mercies,
For they are from of old. (Psalm 25:4–6)

O Lord my God, may I fear You, walk in all Your ways, love You, and serve You with all my heart and with all my soul. (Deuteronomy 10:12)

Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come;
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give me today my daily bread,
And forgive me my debts as I also have forgiven my debtors.
And lead me not into temptation,
But deliver me from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. (Matthew 6:9–13)

Pause here to express any additional personal requests, especially concerning growth in Christ:Greater desire to know and please Him Greater love and commitment to Him Grace to practice His presence Grace to glorify Him in my life

My activities for this day
Special concerns

Intercession

Lord, I now prepare my heart for intercessory prayer for churches and ministries.

May our Lord Jesus Christ Himself and God our Father, who has loved us and has given us eternal consolation and good hope by grace, comfort our hearts and strengthen us in every good work and word. (2 Thessalonians 2:16–17)

We should bear one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ. (Galatians 6:2)

Confess your sins to one other and pray for one other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man accomplishes much. (James 5:16)

In the spirit of these passages, I pray for:My local church Other churches Evangelism and discipleship ministries Educational ministries Special concerns

Affirmation

Feed my mind and heart, O Lord, as I affirm these truths from Your word concerning salvation:

You are the resurrection and the life. He who believes in You will live, even though he dies, and whoever lives and believes in You will never die. (John 11:25–26)

I am convinced that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate me from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus my Lord. (Romans 8:38–39)

By grace I have been saved through faith, and this not of myself; it is the gift of God, not of works, so that no one can boast. For I am God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand for me to do. (Ephesians 2:8–10)

Your sheep hear Your voice, and You know them, and they follow You. You give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of Your hand. The Father, who has given them to You, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of the Father’s hand. You and the Father are one. (John 10:27–30)

The Father has qualified me to share in the inheritance of the saints in the light. For He has rescued me from the dominion of darkness and brought me into the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom I have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (Colossians 1:12–14)

Pause to reflect upon these biblical affirmations.

Thanksgiving

For who You are and for what You have done, accept my thanks, O Lord:

I will greatly rejoice in the Lord;
My soul will be joyful in my God.
For He has clothed me with garments of salvation
And arrayed me in a robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. (Isaiah 61:10)

My soul silently waits for God alone;
My salvation comes from Him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
He is my stronghold; I will never be shaken. (Psalm 62:1–2)

I will both lie down in peace and sleep,
For You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. (Psalm 4:8)

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;
My God is my rock; I will take refuge in Him,
My shield and the horn of my salvation,
My stronghold and my refuge—
My Savior; You save me from violence. (2 Samuel 22:2–3)

Pause to offer your own expressions of thanksgiving.

Closing Prayer

Satisfy us in the morning with Your loyal love,
That we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. (Psalm 90:14)

The God of all grace, who called me to His eternal glory in Christ, after I have suffered a little while, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen, and establish me. To him be the glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen. (1 Peter 5:10–11)

To You who are able to keep me from falling and to present me before Your glorious presence faultless and with great joy—to the only God my Savior, through Jesus Christ my Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all ages and now and forever. Amen. (Jude 24–25)

Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.