Tuesday Prayer Guide

Adoration

I will bless the Lord at all times;
His praise will always be in my mouth.
My soul will make its boast in the Lord;
The humble will hear and be glad.
O magnify the Lord with me,
And let us exalt His name together. (Psalm 34:1–3)

Rejoice in the Lord, O you righteous;
Praise is becoming to the upright. (Psalm 33:1)

As for me, I will always have hope,
And I will praise You more and more.
My mouth will tell of Your righteousness
And of Your salvation all day long,
Though I know not its measure.
I will come in the strength of the Lord God;
I will proclaim Your righteousness, Yours alone.
Since my youth, O God, You have taught me,
And to this day I declare Your wondrous deeds. (Psalm 71:14–17)

Shout joyfully to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
Come before Him with joyful singing.
The Lord, He is God.
It is He who made us, and not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.
I will enter Your gates with thanksgiving
And Your courts with praise;
I will give thanks to You and bless Your name.
For the Lord is good
And Your lovingkindness endures forever;
Your faithfulness continues through all generations. (Psalm 100:1–5)

Pause to express your thoughts of praise and worship.

Confession

Have mercy on me, O God,
According to Your loyal love;
According to the greatness of Your compassion
Blot out my transgressions.
Wash me completely from my iniquity
And cleanse me from my sin.
For I know my transgressions,
And my sin is ever before me.
Against You, You only, have I sinned
And done what is evil in Your sight,
So that You are justified when You speak
And blameless when You judge. (Psalm 51:1–4)

Who can discern his errors?
Cleanse me from hidden faults.
Keep Your servant also from presumptuous sins;
Let them not rule over me.
Then will I be blameless,
And innocent of great transgression. (Psalm 19:12–13)

Ask the Spirit to search your heart and reveal any areas of unconfessed sin. Acknowledge these to the Lord and thank Him for His forgiveness.

Purge me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
Cause me to hear joy and gladness,
That the bones You have crushed may rejoice.
Hide Your face from my sins
And blot out all my iniquities.
Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me from Your presence
Or take Your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of Your salvation
And uphold me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach transgressors Your ways,
And sinners will be converted to You. (Psalm 51:7–13)

Renewal

Lord, renew me by Your Spirit as I offer these prayers to You:

May I return to my God,
Maintain mercy and justice,
And wait on my God continually. (Hosea 12:6)

May I rejoice in my tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into my heart through the Holy Spirit who was given to me. (Romans 5:3–5)

May I rejoice in hope, persevere in affliction, and continue steadfastly in prayer. (Romans 12:12)

May I not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time I will reap a harvest if I do not give up. (Galatians 6:9)

Pause to add your own prayers for personal renewal.

Petition

Father, using Your word as a guide, I offer You my prayers concerning growth in holiness.

If I abide in You, and Your words abide in me, I can ask whatever I wish, and it will be done for me. By this is Your Father glorified, that I bear much fruit, showing myself to be Your disciple. As the Father has loved You, You also have loved me. May I abide in Your love. If I keep Your commandments, I will abide in Your love, just as You kept Your Father’s commandments and abide in His love. You have told me this so that Your joy may be in me and that my joy may be full. (John 15:7–11)

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me and know my anxious thoughts,
And see if there is any wicked way in me,
And lead me in the way everlasting. (Psalm 139:23–24)

O Lord, set a guard over my mouth;
Keep watch over the door of my lips.
Do not let my heart turn aside to any evil thing. (Psalm 141:3–4a)

Direct my footsteps according to Your word, And let no iniquity have dominion over me. (Psalm 119:133)

May I be diligent to add to my faith, virtue; and to virtue, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if these qualities are mine in increasing measure, they will keep me from being barren and unfruitful in the full knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. (2 Peter 1:5–8)

I will not let sin reign in my mortal body that I should obey its lusts. Nor will I present the members of my body to sin, as instruments of wickedness, but I will present myself to God as one who is alive from the dead and my members as instruments of righteousness to God. (Romans 6:12–13)

As an alien and a stranger in the world, may I abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against my soul. (1 Peter 2:11)

The works of the flesh are evident, which are: immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions, envyings, drunkenness, revelries, and the like. Those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:19–23)

May I put away all filthiness and the overflow of wickedness, and in meekness accept the word planted in me, which is able to save my soul. May I be a doer of the word and not merely a hearer who deceives himself. (James 1:21–22)

As I walk in the Spirit, I will not fulfill the desires of the flesh. For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh; for they oppose each other, so that I may not do the things that I wish. But if I am led by the Spirit, I am not under the law. (Galatians 5:16–18)

Pause here to express any additional personal requests, especially concerning spiritual insight:Understanding and insight into the word Understanding my identity in Christ Who I am Where I came from Where I am going Understanding God’s purpose for my life

My activities for this day
Special concerns

Intercession

Lord, I now prepare my heart for intercessory prayer for believers.

May your love abound more and more in full knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to approve the things that are excellent, in order to be sincere and blameless until the day of Christ—having been filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God. (Philippians 1:9–11)

Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in good health, even as your soul prospers. (3 John 2)

In the spirit of these passages, I pray for:Personal friends Those in ministry Those who are oppressed and in need Special concerns

Affirmation

Feed my mind and heart, O Lord, as I affirm these truths from Your word concerning my identity in Christ:

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old things passed away; behold, they have become new. (2 Corinthians 5:17)

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. (Galatians 2:20)

If I died with Christ, I believe that I will also live with Him, knowing that Christ, having been raised from the dead, cannot die again; death no longer has dominion over Him. For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God. In the same way, may I consider myself to be dead to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus. (Romans 6:8–11)

I did not receive a spirit of slavery again to fear, but I received the Spirit of adoption by whom I cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself testifies with my spirit that I am a child of God. (Romans 8:15–16)

My body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in me, whom I have from God, and I am not my own. For I was bought at a price; therefore may I glorify God in my body. (1 Corinthians 6:19–20)

Pause to reflect upon these biblical affirmations.

Thanksgiving

For who You are and for what You have done, accept my thanks, O Lord:

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
Will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust.” (Psalm 91:1–2)

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
Whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the strength of my life;
Of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1)

Lord, thank You that You have made these promises:
For those who revere Your name, the Sun of righteousness will rise with healing in His wings. And they will go out and leap like calves released from the stall. (Malachi 4:2)

Because I love You, You will deliver me;
You will protect me, for I acknowledge Your name.
I will call upon You, and You will answer me;
You will be with me in trouble,
You will deliver me and honor me.
With long life You will satisfy me
And show me Your salvation. (Psalm 91:14–16)

Pause to offer your own expressions of thanksgiving.

Closing Prayer

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. (Psalm 23:6)

Every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and on the sea and all that is in them, will sing:
“To Him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb
Be blessing and honor and glory and power
For ever and ever!” (Revelation 5:13)

May the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip us in every good thing to do His will, working in us what is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. (Hebrews 13:20–21)

Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.