Day 10: Rejoicing with the Lord of the Harvest | The Daily Declaration

Harvest

Intention

To join the Father in drawing in His harvest for His Son’s reward.

Scripture

“No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him, and I will raise him up at the last day.”

– John 6:44

Reflection

I watched the young man from the supermarket unload my groceries out of the trolley into the boot of my car, grateful for such help.

Unexpectedly, I suddenly felt the stirring that comes from the Holy Spirit, encouraging me to step out in faith and test the waters.

“You’re in a band, aren’t you?”, I asked. He looked up with a big smile on his face. “Yes, I am”, he replied to this word of knowledge.

I expected him to ask me how I knew. Most people do when such information is given. Had he done this, it would have opened up an opportunity to share further. But there was no such response from him.

“Do you know Jesus?”, I asked tentatively, unsure where all this was going.

“No”, he replied sharply.

“Well, He loves you very much. I believe that one day, you will play in a band for Him in front of large crowds.”

I didn’t tell him, but the Holy Spirit was guiding the conversation by giving me a vision. His response was to backtrack.

“I’m not really in a band”, he said, angrily banging the boot shut. Grabbing the trolley, he made a quick departure.

I stood there for a moment, pondering his reaction. Hmmm… Holy Spirit, that did not go so well. Perhaps I was the first person to ever tell him that Jesus loves him.

I opened the car door and was about to get in when suddenly, he was back by my side.  Tears were rolling down his face.

“Thank you so much lady, thank you”, he sobbed. Before I could respond, he was gone.

I never saw him again, but I knew that his heart had been touched by the One he did not yet know.

Had he not come back, I would have wrongly assumed the outcome. It was a lesson from the Holy Spirit to me that day. How many of us are put off witnessing because we sense no fruit from our efforts?

The release of a word of knowledge, followed by a prophecy, planted a seed that day. The Lord will use others to water that seed, using the spiritual giftings they have to continue to draw this man into the kingdom for all eternity.

Paul explained to the Corinthians, “I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth.  So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth. He who plants and he who waters are one, and each will receive his wages according to his labour” (1 Corinthians 3:6–8).

Jesus said, “One sows and another reaps” (John 4:37). But whether we sow or reap, we “rejoice together” with the Lord of the harvest (John 4:36).

We all have a role in bringing in the harvest. As Paul said, “But how can they call on Him to save them unless they believe in Him? And how can they believe in Him if they have never heard about Him?”

“And how can they hear about Him unless someone tells them? And how will anyone go and tell them without being sent?” (Romans 10:14–15).

Video

Prayer

Lord of the harvest, we ask that we be sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit when You call upon us to speak Your word to those You send across our paths.

Enable us to overcome all discouragement and intimidation and to be bold in our witness. Fill us with an expression of Your love that brings joy and hope to all who walk in darkness, who You are calling and drawing into Your kingdom. Amen.

Author Bio

Jenny Hagger

Jenny Hagger AM is the Founder of the Australian House of Prayer for All Nations, Mission World Aid and Co-Founder of Watchmen for Oceania. She is on the Advisory Council of The Global Watch, helping to train watchmen and intercessors from around the world.

Prayer Points and Purpose for GO Month 2024

  1. To worship Jesus and give extravagant praise to God. 1 Chron 16:23–31.
  2. To pray for revival, repentance and deliverance for Australia and for millions to find Christ. Acts 2:1–41.
  3. To pray for five people by name to find Christ and share the gospel with those five in May. Matt 28:18–20.

We invite you to support this prayer campaign to multiply prayer in Australia for revival and see millions come to Christ. Every donation to the Canberra Declaration helps us promote prayer and make a stand for family, faith, freedom, life, and the good news of God’s love through Jesus Christ His Son.

Donate Here

Join us for our nightly Zoom prayer call:

DATES: Every night in May

TIME: 8 PM (AEST); 7:30 PM (ACST); 6 PM (AWST)

ZOOM URL LINK: https://zoom.us/j/776881184

Daily devotions are brought to you by the Canberra Declaration.

View GO Month 2024 devotionals on the Daily Declaration website.

Photo by Pixabay.

The post Day 10: Rejoicing with the Lord of the Harvest appeared first on The Daily Declaration.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.